Various Artists - Protected

Since exploding into the mainstream with their album ‘Blue Lines’ in 1991, Massive Attack have come to define the sound of Bristol with their unique, smouldering mix of downtempo soul, dub and atmospherics. Their music has always been underpinned by a deep understanding of classic grooves informed by their early ‘80s experiences in the fabled Wild Bunch sound system mixing early hip hop, soul, funk and reggae. Even from their first recordings as Wild Bunch, covering ‘The Look Of Love’ and ‘Anyone Who Had A Heart’ in a sparse beats ‘n’ bassline style, the Massive Attack trademark was their uncanny ability to re-form staple songs and deeper breaks of yesteryear into dark, brooding pieces, infusing the originals with a whole new energy. PROTECTED reveals some of the secrets of the Massive Attack motherlode, bringing together for the first time many of the original samples and covers that have contributed vital sonic juice to the band’s sound. You’ll hear rare groove favourites like Lowrell’s ‘Mellow Mellow’, Reggae gems from John Holt and Lewin Bones Lock, familiar anthems that were given a whole new Bristol twist. We feature tracks that leant the band some spacey atmospherics with Wally Badarou’s cavernous electro-dub ‘Mambo’ and Billy Cobham’s majestic cosmic opus, ‘Stratus’. And we include some classic breaks (Isaac Hayes’ ‘Ike’s Mood’, The Blackbyrds ‘Rock Creek Park’) alongside the original of their hit ‘Be Thankful’ by William De Vaughn. PROTECTED is the second in a Rapster series of albums, following 2007’s ‘Discovered’, which raided Daft Punk’s sample cupboard. For more info and to get a free tracks check:




02 Lowrell - Mello Mello
- 8:04
05 James Brown - Never Can Say Goodbye
- 3:04
07 Billy Cobham – Stratus
- 9:49
08 Lewin Bones Lock - Five Man Army Dub
- 7:45
09 John Holt - Man Next Door
- 2:20
10 The Blackbyrds - Rock Creek Park
- 4:37
11 Pieces Of A Dream - It´s Time For Love
- 4:09
12 Rufus & Chaka Khan - Any Love
- 4:54